Skip to content

Grooveshark: Music Streaming Wherever You Go!

May 21, 2011

Music streaming services are the most popular services of nowadays to listen to our longtime favorite songs or the new hits of the week.

There are a lot of services, from Rdio to Mog to Spotify to Grooveshark which I’ll be reviewing in this article. Since all the above services are restricted to certain areas and Grooveshark has been available worldwide, I’ve had the great opportunity to try it for over a year now and experience what music streaming is really like.

Grooveshark lets people upload their own music on their (Grooveshark’s) servers so they, along with other users, can listen to it via the web, their mobile phones or using the desktop app. It’s available for free but for the ad-free web app, the desktop app, Last.fm scrobbling and the mobile app along with the offline mode you have to either be a Grooveshark Anywhere member or a plus subscriber to remove only the ads and be able to use the premium theme Smile.

To not wright a long blog post explaining Grooveshark from A to Z, I decided to do a video review Open-mouthed smile (now that I fixed my 5 months microphone issue Nerd smile) which I haven’t done for so long. However, I’m warning you, this video is so long, I apologize for that, but it’s only because I explained it very well!!!

P.S: I missed a thing Embarrassed smile, visualizations, video mode and power hour, but you can get to them thru clicking on songs above the queue. They’ll let you show a visualization while the song is playing and you can choose from 5 different ones and you can also make full screen Smile. Video mode will show you a bunch of videos that match the current song you’re playing so you can watch its video.

Power Hour “A power hour is an American Collegiate tradition that involves a lot of adult beverages. Power Hour Mode accommodates people who’d like to participate in Power Hours by playing every song in your playlist or queue for 60s or 1 minute, creating a convenient signal for “It’s Time To Drink!”

So this is pretty much it. I would love to review the app on my phone but I don’t have a camera to record it nor an app to actually film what’s going on on my screen, I found someone who did that but I never found the app, so If you happen to know one, please share it with us, I have a Nokia 5800 XpressMusic Winking smile.

If I missed anything, you have a feedback or you just want to tell me to stop saying “mmm…, well…” (I’m still trying, I swear! lol) you’re welcome Smile.

The Review:

The Desktop Application:

The Mobile App:

 Scr000056Scr000057Scr000058Scr000059Scr000060Scr000061Scr000062Scr000063Scr000064Scr000065Scr000066Scr000067

Thank you for watching!

See you soon,

Randa

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 12:50 pm

    Nice article ^^ You could also check out applications such as Groovewalrus if you like Last.fm as much as you like Grooveshark ^^ I wrote a little about it in http://slithzerai.blogspot.com
    Cool that you like vampire diaries too!

  2. яάη∂α permalink*
    May 23, 2011 1:07 pm

    Thank you, I’m glad you liked it ^_^
    I’m definitely checking it out :D
    lool I know!!! Thanx ^__^

  3. May 23, 2011 1:26 pm

    followed you back at your blogger place, hope you write the same stuff there ^^

  4. яάη∂α permalink*
    May 23, 2011 1:36 pm

    Thanx ^_^ I do write the same and sometimes I write things there that I don’t here :)

  5. May 29, 2011 7:03 pm

    moved my blog to wp as well :) too bad every link still points to blogspot ^^

  6. яάη∂α permalink*
    May 29, 2011 7:10 pm

    Welcome!!
    Hope you enjoy blogging here!!
    lool, it’s okey :)

  7. June 9, 2011 8:09 pm

    Hello, very professional high level blog! thank you for sharing. Because of good writing, and I learned a lot, and I am glad to see such a beautiful thing. Sorry for my bad English. ?
    My website is about Vegetarian diet plan.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,273 other followers

